Relieve the finals from 1963 to today

2019 New Zealand (winners), Australia (runners-up). Liverpool (hosts)

New Zealand stunned holders and 11-time champions Australia to win the 2019 Netball World Cup in Liverpool. The final was tense throughout and came down to the dying seconds and just one goal, as the Kiwis prevailed 52-51. It was the Silver Ferns’ fifth world title but their first since 2003 as they finally ended the Diamonds’ dominance. England clinched bronze with a 58-42 win over South Africa.

Australia captured the Netball World Cup for the 11th time, surviving a late fightback from New Zealand to win the final 58-55. The New Zealanders outscored the Australians in each of the last three quarters but were unable to erase a nine-goal deficit from the opening quarter. England easily beat Jamaica 66-44 to win the bronze medal match at Sydney’s SuperDome.

At full time, nothing could separate the two sides at 46-46. It was the first ever final that went into extra time. The scores were dead level at 52-52 in the midway point of extra time. Enter Caitlin Bassett, who shot the winning goal in the last second of extra time, to give Australia a 58-57 victory.

2007 Australia (winners), New Zealand (runners-up). Auckland (hosts)

Australia last won the championship in 1999, the last time it was held on New Zealand soil. They would repeat the same feat in 2007, and won their ninth title with a 42-38 win against the hosts in the final. This World Cup was the final time we saw two iconic Australian players compete on the world’s stage. The captain, Liz Ellis was making her fourth appearance at the World Cup and Sharelle McMahon was making her third appearance.

2003 New Zealand (winners), Australia (runners-up). Kingston (hosts)

The final once again came down to Australia and New Zealand. The pressure was on for the Silver Ferns as it had been 16 years since they had last defeated Australia at a World Cup. The final was again close, but there would be no near misses for New Zealand this time as they would defeat their rival 49-47 to claim their fourth world title.

1999 Australia (winners), New Zealand (runners-up). Christchurch (hosts)

The final would come down to Australia and New Zealand yet again, in what was another classic between the two. The game was the highest rated programme for TVNZ 2 at the time with nearly 7,000 jampacked inside the stadium. Defending champions Australia were six goals down at three quarter time, with the scores at 28-34. The Diamonds produced an almighty comeback in the final fifteen and would win the game in the dying seconds, as Sharelle McMahon converted to make it 42-41 – and title number eight for Australia.

1995 Australia (winners), South Africa (runners-up). Birmingham (hosts)

The final between Australia and South Africa wasn’t as close as the finals that had taken place in previous years as Australia would win by a 20 goal margin. Despite losing the final, the South Africa squad still returned home as heroes. “The 1995 Championship put netball in South Africa on the map,” said Irene van Dyk. “We arrived at the airport and there were so many people welcoming us back. It lifted netball’s profile overnight.” In addition to the increased media and fan attention, the South African team received a medal from Nelson Mandela personally, which was pretty significant, says Irene. “You just don’t know how lucky you are until things change and that was definitely one of my personal highlights.”

1991 Australia (winners), New Zealand (runners-up). Sydney (hosts)

The final between Australia and New Zealand is often described as one of the greatest games in the history of the sport. A sell out 10,050 crowd were in the Sydney Entertainment Centre to witness Australia capture their sixth title. One of those in attendance was the then Australian Prime Minister, Bob Hawke. Besides the Olympics, this was the first time the Prime Minister was present at a female sporting event. Australia stormed to a strong and spectacular finish. A key moment was when goal keeper Roselee Jencke intercepted a New Zealand attack late on that turned the match in Australia’s favor. The final finished 53-52 and Australia would win their sixth world title, their first on home soil.

1987 New Zealand (winners), Australia/Trinidad & Tobago (runners-up). Glasgow (hosts)

The 1987 World Netball Championships were held in Scotland. A total of 17 national teams competed. The winning team was New Zealand, who won every game they played at the tournament. Australia and Trinidad & Tobago finished equal second.

1983 Australia (winners), New Zealand (runners-up). Singapore (hosts)

The final came down to Australia and New Zealand, who had won all of their games so far in the competition. Many tipped New Zealand as slight favorites as they had won five of their previous six games against Australia, however it wasn’t to be for the Silver Ferns as Australia would win 47-42.

NZ/Australia/Trinidad & Tobago (winners). Port Of Spain (hosts)

The top three sides each won eight of the nine games, each losing once to one of the other two first placed teams. New Zealand defeated Trinidad & Tobago 32-27; Trinidad & Tobago defeated Australia 40-38; and Australia defeated New Zealand 38-36. As there was no other way for the tournament organisers to determine an outright winner, all three teams were declared champions.

Played outdoors in the wind and rain, England defeated the hosts New Zealand 39-38 which put them in contention. However, a 41-36 defeat to Australia made it advantage to the defending champions. The title was eventually decided after Australia drew 34-34 with New Zealand on the final day of the competition.

The tournament was once again played in a round robin format, with a lot of the matches being very close. The hosts drew 34-34 with Trinidad & Tobago, while England narrowly lost by one against Australia and by two against New Zealand. Yet again it was a battle between New Zealand and Australia to become World Champions. A 48-42 victory meant that Australia would regain the trophy.

1967 New Zealand (winners), Australia (runners-up). Perth (hosts)

The 1967 World Netball Tournament has gone down in history as one of New Zealand’s finest moments, beating Australia in the final match of the 13-day tournament 40-34.

1963 Australia (winners), England (runners-up). Eastbourne (hosts)

Australia went undefeated, winning ten straight games to become the first ever World Champions. One of their key victories came against runners up New Zealand, where they secured a one-goal victory: 37-36. Australia’s winning captain Joyce Brown had the honor of being the first ever winning captain of the Netball World Cup.